Certification by Waiver
As of January 1, 2017 the Certification by Waiver training requirements have changed to a minimum 80 hour curriculum that must include;
- Ethics and sexual harassment – eight hours;
- Search and seizure – 16 hours;
- New Mexico legal block – 16 hours
- Dealing with the mentally ill (HB 93) – eight hours;
- Use of force, response to resistance, and training simulator – 16 hours;
- Domestic violence and human trafficking – eight hours;
- Reality based training scenarios – four hours;
- Administrative time – one hour;
- Law enforcement officers certification exam – three hours;
80 hours of academy accredited training is required for successful completion of the certification by waiver of previous training course.
Click here for a copy 10.29.6.6 NMAC
Click here for a copy of the LEA CBW 80 hour Accreditation sheet
Certification By Waiver Class Schedule:
CBW 91 – March 6 – 17, 2017
CBW 92 – June 5 – 16, 2017
CBW 93 – November 6 – 17, 2017
CBW 94 – March 5 – 16, 2018
CBW 95 – June 4 – 15, 2018
CBW 96 – November 5 – 16, 2018
For those wanting to challenge the exam; Per [10.29.6.8 NMAC – Rp, 10.29.6.8 NMAC, 11/15/16]
C. Once an applicant has successfully met the aforementioned requirements, the applicant shall complete one of the following paths to successfully meet the certification requirements:
(1) The applicant’s agency will provide documentation attesting to the applicant’s successful completion of 80 hours of accredited training. Upon review and approval of submitted documentation of aforementioned training, the applicant will then be eligible to challenge, and must successfully pass with a minimum score of seventy percent, the law enforcement officer’s certification examination (LEOCE).
(2) If the applicant is unable to complete any of 80 hours of accredited training, or did not successfully pass the LEOCE, the applicant will be required to attend 80 hour certification by waiver training program and successfully pass with a minimum score of seventy percent the LEOCE.
- Applicants will have two opportunities to successfully pass the LEOCE. If an applicant is unable to pass the LEOCE after two attempts he or she will be required to attend and pass the basic police officer training program.
- For the purposes of certification by waiver of previous training, pursuant to Section 29-7-10 NMSA 1978 (Repl. Pamp. 1997), the academy board has adopted the following formula to be applied to individuals who have not completed a comparable basic training program: applicants will be given credit for previous certified law enforcement experience at the rate of 40 hours per year for each year of service, up to but not to exceed 10 years, for a total of 400 hours, and the applicant will receive credit for advanced training, up to but not to exceed 400 hours. Applicant experience and training must be equivalent to the current minimum standards of training curriculum in effect at the time of application, unless such deficiencies are covered in the certification by waiver program.
In addition your CBW part I and Part II packets must be complete and approved prior to challenging the exam.
Challenge Examination Dates – The challenge exam is given by appointment only. Please verify eligibility and confirm a test date with Joaquin Nielsen at (505) 827-9276. Those who do not have confirmation will not be allowed to take the exam. A waiver process to become a certified peace officer in the State of New Mexico exists for those individuals whom the Board has previously certified but whose certification has become inactive or for those individuals who have functioned as a peace officer in another state or with the federal government whose training and experience substantially conform to the basic course curriculum of New Mexico.
Recommended Study Materials
Every applicant for certification by waiver of previous training must meet all qualifications and requirements as established in New Mexico statues and New Mexico Law Enforcement Academy Board administrative rules. Any previously certified New Mexico peace officer must attend the Certification by Waiver program if they have been out of commissioned law enforcement for more than two (2) years without six (6) consecutive months of service. Any applicant who has not been employed as a full-time law enforcement officer for a period in excess of eight (8) years must attend the basic police officer training program to become certified.
The Director may consider the applicant’s certified law enforcement experience and give credit of 40 hours per year for each year of service, up to but not to exceed ten (10) years, for a total of 400 hours and, the applicant will receive credit for advanced training, up to but not to exceed 400 hours. Applicant experience and training must be equivalent to the current minimum standards of training curriculum in effect at the time of application, which is currently 675 hours, unless such deficiencies are covered in the Certification by Waiver Program.
The Certification by Waiver of Previous Training requirements were amended at the July 24, 2012 NMLEA Board meeting. The new requirements are: 10.29.6 NMAC