Advanced Training Bureau

Course Schedule

Law enforcement agencies may contact the Advanced Training Bureau if they are in need of a specialized course that does not appear on the schedule. Request must be submitted in writing indicating what class is needed, the length of the course, suitable dates, and training location. A minimum of 15 students are needed to host a training if DPS staff will be conducting the course. If outside vendors are brought in, the cost for each individual student will be dependent upon the vendors cost proposal. For further information, please contact the Bureau Chief of Advanced Training, Frank Ortiz at 505-827-9257.

2016 Advanced Course Schedule
DateCourseHoursLocationInstructorFeeFeeRegistration
9/6-9/9HB 93 Instructor Course40NMLEA, Santa FeDr. Troy Rodgers,
PSPG, LLC
$400$800Complete and submit via mail,email or fax.
10/3-10/4STAR Stonewall Tactical:
Stonewall Defensive Tactics Instructor Course
16NMLEA, Santa FePaul Green,
Star Tactical
TBDTBD
Postponed 24NMLEA, Santa FeNMLEA and NMSP Staff$225$450Complete and submit via mail,email or fax.
10/6-10/7NMLEA Firearms Instructor Update16NMLEA, Santa FeKevin McPherson
Master Instructor
$200N/AComplete and submit via mail,email or fax.
10/11-10/1324NMLEA, Santa FeSgt. Mike Dunlap (ret.)
Senior Staff Instructor
Weapons Systems Training Council
$475$475Register on-line:
10/17-10/28Defensive Tactics Instructor School80NMLEA, Santa FeSgt. Doug Looney, NMSP$1000N/AComplete and submit via mail,email or fax.
10/26SFST Refresher8Albuquerque, NMSWTC$0$0Register with SWTC on-line: SWTCNM
11/9SFST Refresher8Clovis, NMSWTC$0$0Register with SWTC on-line: SWTCNM
11/7-11/11Ground Control Instructor School40NMLEA, Santa FeSgt. Doug Looney, NMSP$500N/AComplete and submit via mail,email or fax.
11/16SFST Refresher8Farmington, NMSWTC$0$0Register with SWTC on-line: SWTCNM
11/14- 11/16Carbine Operator Course24NMLEA, Santa FeKevin McPherson
Master Instructor
$300N/AComplete and submit via mail,email or fax.
11/29- 11/30Shotgun Operator Course24NMLEA, Santa FeKevin McPherson
Master Instructor
$200N/AComplete and submit via mail,email or fax.
12/28New Mexico Department of Public Safety Complex
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Dr. Lawrence J. Simon$150$150To register for this class in New Mexico please call 954-270-0414 or go to www.ljsintl.com
Go to the contact us page to register under the heading ILETA.
12/7SFST Refresher8Las Cruces, NMSWTC$0$0Register with SWTC on-line: SWTCNM

Fee 1: New Mexico Certified and Commissioned law enforcement officers; Non-Certified New Mexico law enforcement officers with less than 12 months in service; Tribal law enforcement officers; New Mexico Reserve, Auxiliary and Mounted Patrol officers; New Mexico Certified Public Safety Telecommunicators; and civilians affiliated with New Mexico law enforcement agencies.
Fee 2: Federal and military law enforcement officers; out-of-state law enforcement officers; and civilians not affiliated with New Mexico law enforcement agencies.