NM Law Enforcement Accredited Curriculum

The following training documents are provided for agencies to use to provide the required Biennium In-Service Training courses mandated by NM State Statute and/or NMLEA Board Rule (NMAC 10.29.7.8). Each course has an accompanying NMDPS Accreditation number. Courses must be taught by NMDPS certified instructors. Instructors must hold a General Police or Professional Lecturer certification with the exception of the Firearms Training which must be taught by a NMDPS certified Firearms Instructor. Agencies may develop and accredit their own curriculum and are encouraged to do so to meet their unique local community needs. Course accreditation may be applied for using the NMDPS form LEA-86. Attendance must be documented using the NMDPS forms LEA-86B and LEA-86C.

2016 - 2017 In-Service Courses

Additional information on the Biennium In-Service Training Requirements
     ~
     ~2016-2017 In-Service Training Requirements as of 4-11-2016. An updated NMAC 10.29.7 to be posted and will include; Requirements for Sexual Assault Kits training
Safe Pursuit Act Training Documents
A minimum of four (4) hours shall be in safe pursuit pursuant to Section 29-20-3 NMSA 1978.
      ~ NM16162 (4 hours)
      ~
      ~
Hate Crimes Training Documents
A minimum of two (2) hours shall be in the detection, investigation and reporting of a crime motivated by hate pursuant to Section 31-18B-5 NMSA 1978.
      ~ NM16-65E (2 hours)
      ~
Domestic Violence Training Documents
A minimum of one (1) hour shall be in domestic violence incident training pursuant to Section 29-7-4.1 NMSA 1978.
      ~ Domestic Violence Refresher Lesson Plan is Currently under review.
      ~
Includes new statutory definition of household member
Domestic Violence Roll Call Training Video NM16113A (1 hour)
As an alternative to classroom instruction, the following videos may be viewed to meet the in-service training requirements. This training should be documented using the (LEA-62)
      ~ R/T: 8:12 minutes
      ~ R/T: 11:04 minutes
      ~ R/T: 15:16 minutes
      ~
Ensuring Child Safety Upon Parental Arrest Training Documents
A minimum of one (1) hour shall be in ensuring child safety upon arrest pursuant to Section 29-7-7.3 NMSA 1978.

NM16-51K (1 hour)

Reference Material
      ~
      ~
      ~
      ~
      ~
      ~
      ~
      ~

As an alternative to classroom instruction, the following videos may be viewed to meet the in-service training requirements. This training should be documented using the (LEA-62)
Ensuring Child Safety: A Three-Part Video Series for Law Enforcement Personnel NM16-44 (2 hours)
Brought to you by: New Mexico CYFD Protective Services Division, NMSU Southwest Institute for Family and Child Advocacy, and Bernalillo County Sheriff's Office. With funding from: New Mexico Children's Justice Act Advisory Group.
      ~
      ~ (R/T: 16:28 minutes)
      ~
      ~ (R/T: 17:53 minutes)
      ~
      ~ (R/T: 17:56 minutes)
      ~
Firearms Training Documents
Four (4) hours of academy approved day and night firearms training on agency approved weapons systems, including but not limited to duty handgun, backup handgun, shotgun, and rifle. No more than one (1) hour training shall be classroom lecture. A minimum of three (3) hours training, divided equally between day and night training, and shall consist of practical exercises using live fire, simmunitions®, airsoft® or other firearms training systems. Qualification testing may not be used as training to meet this requirement pursuant to 10.29.7.8.A(6) NMAC.
      ~ Training curriculum for Law Enforcement Firearms is security sensitive. The Academy has drafted model curriculum for handgun, rifle, shotgun, and backup weapons (revolver and semi-automatic pistol) to meet the 2016 - 2017 in-service training requirements. These DPS accredited lesson plans are available to NMDPS certified Firearms Instructors only. Firearms Instructors holding a current NMDPS certification may e-mail the to request a copy of firearms lesson plans.
      ~ Available 2016-2017In-Service Firearms Curriculum (4 hour accredited curriculum)
      ~ 2016 - 2017 In-Service Revolver Backup NM16151P (4 hours)
      ~ 2016 - 2017 In-Service Semi-Auto Handgun NM16151M (4 hours)
      ~ 2016 - 2017 In-Service Carbine/Rifle NM16151N (4 hours)
      ~ 2016 - 2017 In-Service Shotgun NM16151Q (4 hours)
      ~ As an alternative to the Academy courses, Departments may create their own courses to meet the 2016-2017 In-Service training requirements, however courses must be submitted to the Academy for accreditation to meet the in-service training requirements under 10.29.7.8 NMAC.

2016 NMDPS Day / Night Qualification Courses
Agencies have to qualify their officers using the New June 9, 2016 LEA Board approved Day and Night qualification courses. All qualifications done prior to the June 9, 2016 date are still valid.
Officers are required to achieve a minimum passing score of 80% on a 100 point scale.

Shot point values for the NMLEA Day Pistol Qualification courses are worth two points each. Head shots can only be scored if they lie within the “Scuba Mask” on an approved NMLEA target. When reporting pistol scores, odd score values will be considered invalid, only even scores (i.e. 88, 90, 92) will be accepted.

The “New” NMLEA Night Pistol qualification course is a 25 shot course. Shot point values for the “New” NMLEA Night Pistol qualification course are worth 4 points each. Head shots can only be scored if they lie within the “Scuba Mask” on an approved NMLEA target. When reporting scores, odd score values will be considered invalid, only even scores (i.e. 88, 90, 92) will be accepted.
      ~
      ~New June 2016 NMDPS Night Qualification Course
Missing Persons / AMBER Alert Training Documents
A minimum of one (1) hour shall be in missing persons and AMBER alert training pursuant to Section 29-7-7.4 NMSA 1978.
Below are sample MS PowerPoint presentations and reference materials which may be used by law enforcement agencies to meet this mandate. The presentation has been accredited for two hours of in-service training.
      ~ NMNM16181F (2 hours)
      ~ Missing Persons / AMBER Alert Handouts
      ~
      ~       ~
Child Abuse Training Documents
A minimum of two (2) hours in child abuse incident training pursuant to Section 29-7-4.2 NMSA 1978.
      ~ NM16-65D (2 hours)
      ~
      ~
Interaction with Persons with Mental Impairment Training Documents
A minimum of two(2) hours shall be in academy accredited interaction with persons with mental impairments training pursuant to 10.29.7.8A(11) NMAC for certified officers and a minimum of 2 hours shall be in academy accredited interaction with persons with mental impairments training pursuant to 10.29.7.9A(1) NMAC for certified telecommunicators. Curriculum has been developed to meet the statutory requirements and Train the Trainer courses are being offered. All instructors who complete the Train the Trainer will be given the full curriculum to deliver the training to officers and telecommunicators state-wide. Please check the for dates and locations of classes.

      ~
Legal Update Training Documents
A minimum of two (2) hours shall be in academy accredited legal update training to include changes in New Mexico state statutes and recent state and federal case law pursuant to 29.7.8.A(10) NMAC.
      ~ NM16-21 (2 hours) Revised March 30, 2016
DWI/SFST Refresher Documents
For all officers who may be involved in the arrest of DWI offenders as a normal part of their duties, four (4) hours shall be in NHTSA approved standardized field sobriety testing (SFST) protocols or successful course completion of the NHTSA approved sixteen (16) hour advanced roadside impaired driving enforcement course. To schedule Refresher classes contact:
Statewide SFST Coordinator 505-328-9262
Off Highway Vehicle (OHV) Enforcement Training Documents
This three (3) hour curriculum is accredited, however it is not required in the 2016-2017 In-Service as mandatory. Agencies are encouraged to continue to offer the course and the training hours may be applied toward the optional hours necessary to meet the forty hour training minimum. The NM Department of Game and Fish is available to provide this training. Please contact Desi Ortiz at (505) 222-4718 or by e-mail at or David Chester at (505) 476-8171 or by e-mail at .
      ~ NM16-51L (3 hours)
      ~
OHV Handouts
      ~ (18.15.3 NMAC)
      ~ (66-3-1001 through 1021 NMSA 1978)
      ~
      ~
Optional 2016-2017 In-Service Training Topics
Remaining hours shall be in maintenance or advanced areas from the following general topic areas pursuant to 29.7.8.A(11) NMAC.
      ~ Ethics, use of force, report writing, critical incident management, defensive tactics, communications skills, or emergency vehicle
         operations.
      ~ First line supervisors and mid-managers: Ethics, principles of supervision, field training and evaluation, performance appraisals,
         coaching, mentoring, vicarious liability, or communication skills.
      ~ Agency executives and command staff: Ethics, leadership, policy development, strategic planning, goal setting, budgeting,
         human resources management, or employment law.

Other approved advanced and specialized training/education or any maintenance training area which is designed to improve upon or add to the knowledge, skills, and abilities of the certified law enforcement officer.

2014-2015 Biennium/ In-Service Courses

For information on 2014-2015 Biennium Course Material, please contact